Skip to content

Freestyle from Henryk Worobiec

April 20, 2008

worobiec1 I got this pipe in Poland at a World Championship held in Poznan. I was admiring Henryk’s pipes and singing the praises of the various pipes I picked up and held in my hands. The workmanship was excellent and the forms of his pipes were exciting and a little different to those that I was used to. Henryk didn’t speak much English but had a very pretty assistant that did. Through her, I congratulated Henryk on his work and then left the table. What I didn’t know was that a Russian buyer had been standing behind me and he bought every one of the pipes that I had looked at and praised. Ten or eleven pieces in all and he didn’t argue over the price.

On returning to the area where Henryk had his display, the young lady assistant came up to me and invited me back to the table.

Delighted that he had sold a number of his pipes thanks to my appreciation, he offered me the chance to take a pipe of my own choosing at a greatly reduced price. And so it was, that I became the proud owner of this magnificent example of Henryk’s handiwork. Short, fat and straight grained, reminiscent of a lovat, this has to be one of my favourite freestyles in my collection. The pipe is cut from a plateau block of high quality briar, decorated with a silver ring (925 hallmarked) and has an acrylic mouthpiece.

A little footnote here. It was also Henryk that produced the pipes for the championship. More on that at a later date.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mateusz Worobiec permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:52

    I am proud of my father’s pipes and happy to hear such a good things about it!

    Oh wonderful. Welcome Mateusz. My very fondest regards to your father. His pipes are still amongst my favourites. Thanks for commenting here.
    Exile.

    • Klejdi permalink
      August 1, 2012 20:51

      Hi i am trying to contact mr worobiec but with no success.can you help me? Klejd

      Email sent to you with details.
      Exile.

  2. March 11, 2010 04:10

    I was pleasantly surprised to see that you have a pipe from Henry Worobeic. I was even more thrilled to read you’ve actually met him. I found him and since then have purchased six of his pipes in various sizes and just sent an order for an even dozen. I have one I smoke and the rest I keep locked up for posterity as it were. You’re awesome!

    Well, thankyou. I’ve never been awesome before! Henryk really is a nice guy. He has just recently gone online with his pipes. I believe his son is also helping out with the business. I received an e-mail from him once.
    Henrik’s pipes are very good. He deserves more attention.
    Exile.

  3. Guillermo permalink
    April 4, 2011 01:51

    I purchased my first Henryk Worobiec pipe a couple of months ago. I am very impressed with his work! I will be buying more pipes from Mr. Worobiec!

  4. oleh permalink
    July 27, 2011 20:10

    Today I became a happy owner of two Heneyk”s pipes , one of them made of black oak (morta, polish eben).

    Congratulations! Morta’s are usually made from bog oak, which is generally black in colour. They smoke very well, as far as I have been told.
    Exile.

Trackbacks

  1. Mistrz i inetrnauci | fajka.net.pl

Leave a comment