Skip to content

DM 2013 – Danish Masters

March 18, 2013

The 2013 slow smoking championships were held yesterday. I didn’t get to be the Danish Champion. Again. But I did get to be no. 16 out of around 100 smokers, so I’m not entirely displeased with my performance. I think the pipe played it’s part in this, it not being entirely typical of a championship pipe. But more about that later on.

My day began with the coming together of two good friends in the middle of Copenhagen. We had decided to meet up and get a good brunch before going on to the pipe show and championships. We found a breakfast café close to the venue and sat down to coffee and breakfast, which was absolutely delicious, and then made our way slowly but surely through the windy streets of the capital. Cold but happy, we arrived at the venue.
The show was all that it could be, pipes, tobacco and all the tackle that follows one around in this world of pipe smoking; tampers, reamers, pipe cleaners, cleaning fluid and this year we could even buy tobacco at the show. Well done Poul Olsen’s “My Own Blend” for venturing forth and selling your wares. They even gave a shot of Grappa if one asked nicely and produced a glass to have it in.

On to the championship then. The pipe, as I said, was not typical of the pipes we usually get. The chamber was a little taller than usual and thus it was also a little  smaller across the diameter. Not much room for the customary tamper to be maneuvered in the usual way. Not surprising then, that the times we achieved were slightly under what we usually produce. Actually, there were quite a few surprises as those that one usually sees surviving longest began to go out quite early on in the competition.
I usually reach the one and a quarter hour area before I start to get worried but I couldn’t get that far this year and my pipe went out at one hour eleven minutes. As I said, that earned me a 16th place but I had hoped to hold on a little longer. Oh well, there’s always next year.

Off to the bar then and freshen up my palate with a good beer and listen to the stories of how people’s pipes had behaved abnormally and the tobacco was too dry and other excuses for leaving the field so early on in the proceedings. Like the one that got away from the fisherman, we have the one that went out for the pipe smoker.

The day ended with the reigning champion defending his title in style, deciding to stop after two hours thirty minutes. Well done champ. You deserved it.

IMG_4708The pipe is, as it always is, a Stanwell. A nice sandblasted billiard that I thought smoked very well. The stampings are clear and crisp, “Stanwell”, “Danish design” and “DM2013” all stamped into a polished area under the shank. The fishtail stem, of course, bears the yellow metal Stanwell “S” logo.

Dimensions:

Length: 158 mm
Height: 50 mm

Chamber: 17.5 mm diameter x 42 mm deep
Bowl outer diameter: 37 mm

If anyone is interested, I have a second (unsmoked) pipe complete with box, sleeve and stamper that will be going up for sale later on this year, unless anybody jumps on it now…!!

Update:
Somebody jumped! The pipe has been bought by a gentleman in Switzerland.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kari Johansson permalink
    March 18, 2013 17:43

    And how much is the price for the pipe? 🙂

    €60.00. That’s about $78.00 US. Post & packing depends on postal charges.
    Exile.

  2. April 21, 2013 16:07

    16 out of 100, eh? That’s good! Congrats! By the way, I saw you in there. I wanted to find you later and say hi but had no luck. Vanished in puffs perhaps. Anyway, hope you’re good.

    – Arko

  3. May 30, 2013 07:35

    I have never heard of such a competition. How interesting! But, being only a “2 year old” pipe smoker, I suppose there is much yet to learn. I’m glad I stumbled upon your page.

    ~jeremiah

    There are also international competitions, such as the World Championships and European Championships. The world record for 3 grams of tobacco is 3 hours 33 minutes.
    I haven’t got a chance..!!
    Exile.

  4. July 1, 2013 01:09

    It must be a pleasure to watch such a competition! Upon reflection, I have found myself usually restricted the company of a field of sheep; or the odd passer-by at the coffee house patio table – never a company of careful pipe smokers. Very interested to have been able to read your report of the event – Many thanks indeed. Sincerely, PL

    Watching it may be fun Phil, but partaking in the madness is indescribable… I hope the sheep enjoy the odd whiff or two of your tobacco..!!
    Exile.

  5. July 21, 2013 15:56

    I agree with Arko, 16 out of 100 is nothing to sneeze at.

    Philip, crowds do nothing for me and the pipe. My best smokes are usually alone in the back yard. I also enjoy a gathering with two or three other pipe smokers at a local coffee shop once or twice a month.

    Best to all,
    Jim

  6. November 7, 2013 11:24

    That’s a really nice pipe. Where can I get ones like these? I can only find glass and metal smoking pipes like these, I want a proper quality old fashion Churchill pipe

    Hi Jimmy,
    Thanks for this. And if you really want a pipe like this, I may know where I can find one, probably only been smoked once at the championship. Have a good look at my sales site: exilesplace.dk
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

