Skip to content

Happy Birthday Exile

December 28, 2013

I’d been looking forward to my 60th birthday for a long time. It means early retirement and all that comes with the lazy carefree life I expected it to be. It goes without saying that one has to celebrate and I decided on a Gentlemans lunch with friends. And so it was and what a day! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. During the proceedings I was presented with a gift voucher from my good friends and was told to get myself off to Søren Refbjerg and choose a pipe from his selection. Three days later I stood in his workshop.

IMG_5098Søren is a clever chap. Observant. The last time I visited him to collect some pipes to sell on my website, he noticed me admiring a pipe on the bench. A variation on a Bulldog, slightly and elegantly decorated with gallalite and vinyl and showing some fine grain. It was sold, however, and I had to leave it where it was but the pipe had definitely spoken to me.  Noticing this and knowing of my friends plans, he immediately got cracking on a similar pipe and this was the result.

I couldn’t be more pleased. A pipe that I wanted, perhaps even more pretty than the one I was admiring and handmade by a craftsman for whom I have a great deal of respect.
My thanks to them all. This is a beauty and smoking it is a rare treat. The bit is comfortable, slightly fishtailed and a little thicker than normal, which means it hangs well in my teeth if it needs to, although I seldom bite on a pipe, preferring to smoke it in the hand. I am not a ‘clencher’.  The bowl is nice to hold and the pipe is well balanced both in the hand and on the eye. Flawless as far as I can see and made from fine Corsican briar, this one will be a cherished pipe and I’m glad to have it in the rotation.

116 mm in length, the chamber is 20mm in diameter and 36mm deep. Filled with Virginia, it’s a delightful pipe to smoke.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kypros permalink
    December 29, 2013 07:50

    Happy birthday Keith.

    Thanks Kypros.
    Exile.

  2. Jacob Pedersen. permalink
    December 29, 2013 09:41

    Happy birthday Keith, and what a beautiful pipe !

    Thanks. Now I have the time to enjoy it!
    Exile.

  3. February 2, 2014 22:02

    Nice to hear, just come across your blog actually

Leave a Reply

