Skip to content

Savinelli 320KS

October 19, 2012

This is a pipe I acquired during my Ebaying days. I have since given up on Ebay as there are some amongst us who are willing to pay way over the odds for what amounts to a beaten up old briar and they tend to overbid on anything marked up as being “vintage”, “rare” and “collectible”, even though all three statements are more deceptive than descriptive.
This particular pipe is neither one of those three but I wanted an author shape in my rotation and this fat Savinelli caught my eye. I got it for the princely sum of $35.oo which I believe was a bargain. In very good condition and hardly smoked at all when I got it, I have put it to good use over the past two years. It is quite heavy as pipes go and not one I would have hanging from my teeth for any length of time but it does smoke very well even if it is bored to take a filter. I removed the filter and inserted the customary plug into the recess. (Without the plug it whistles like a football referee on steroids!)

IMG_4649

Not the nicest piece of briar I have ever seen with a badge from a knot (?) on the front of the bowl but, as I said, it caught my eye and the shape is very pleasant. I’ve looked for fills and can’t find one so, all in all, I’m pleased with the thing and wouldn’t part with it now. This is the fifth Savinelli I own and I may have to entertain the thought of getting more from the same factory. To give some idea of the size of this delightful instrument, the shank is 24 mm in diameter where it meets the bowl and tapers back to 22 mm at the stem The button is 17 mm broad and 7 mm thick. See further down for other dimensions.

The pipe is stamped very clearly with “Champagne”, from the line of that name, “Savinelli Product” under the shank and “320KS Italy”. All the markings are clear and crisp. The savinelli logo is imprinted on the stem but as the white has worn off, it is barely visible. The pipe is decorated with a thin yellow metal ring and a vinyl ring ends the stem.

The chamber diameter invites mixtures. Although this pipe does smoke well on Virginias, it really shows its value with a good English mixture such as Dunhill 965 or even Petersons Old Dublin.

Dimensions:

Bowl:  50 mm at he broadest point.
Chamber: Ø22 mm x 32 mm deep.
Height: 42 mm.
Length: 142 mm.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    October 19, 2012 06:23

    Yes, Exile, they are indeed nice pipes. I have two; one a regular smooth finish the other a sandblast. What I discovered is while they are not small pipes, they are rather comfortable held between the teeth and seem to “fit” in the corner of the mouth quite well. Both are good smokers.
    I believe you will have many years of enjoyable puffs!
    Regards,
    David.

    Thanks Dave. As I said, I wouldn’t want to have it clenched in my teeth for any great length of time but I concur. They do sit well for a heavy pipe.
    Exile.

  2. Les Sechler permalink
    October 19, 2012 19:55

    For myself, I find that prices are way down on even the most interesting pipes, or they are on the pipe I like which were all made in England prior to 1969.

    Keep me on your mailing list please, I find that a nice piece will sell faster to those on a list who know us from the past.

    Les Sechler

    Not sure how to interpret that Les.. The pipes on the blog here are not generally for sale.. those that are, can be found on my sales site. And which mailing list are you referring to..??
    Nice to have you here though. Looking forward to any reply from you.
    Exile.

  3. Jim permalink
    October 19, 2012 22:05

    Glad to hear it is working out well for you. My Ebay buys have by and large been good ones but at times I do get a “stinker”. The pipe is a good looker and should give years of pleasure and service.
    Congratulations!

    Thanks Jim.
    Exile.

  4. David permalink
    October 26, 2012 22:00

    Hi, getting back into pipe smoking after many years away ,I chose a Savinelli 320 ex.It’s a stout pipe with a relatively wide bowl. I’m learning anew and will pass on how it’s going with it. Thanks,
    Davidg

    Please keep me informed. And many thanks for the email. I’ll be answering it shortly.
    Exile.

  5. October 31, 2012 09:32

    There is a huge variety of pipe tobacco out there. This is a good thing for pipe smokers…

    How true…
    Exile.

  6. November 1, 2012 11:10

    Exile
    The grain and shape of this pipe is very nice. Where do you normally find your pipes? Ebay, Craig’sList or some other source?

    http://www.pipelighters.net

    As I said, my Ebaying days are over.. but I occasionally go there to browse around.. it would have to be something pretty darn spectacular to get me involved again. I never used Craigslist although I did go there once to look. I do buy the occasional new pipe and I often go to Al Pascia to find new pipes. It has become very rare for me to buy estates. I do have a rather large collection at my command. Over 120 pipes has to be enough for my purposes..!!
    This is partly why I started selling pipes, basically trying to thin out the herd. Then things began to develop.. but that, as they say, is another story.
    Exile.

  7. November 5, 2012 09:16

    Very nice pipe. I try not to buy a pipe that is labeled ‘vintage’ unless I can verify 100% that it is indeed a vintage pipe.

    Hi James and thank you for commenting here. I would love to know what this term “vintage” has to do with any given pipe. To determine vintage one has to know the year of manufacture. One can determine this with a Dunhill, if one believes the stampings, but otherwise it is a very difficult thing to do. If one is simply pointing out that this is an old pipe, why not simply write just that. “For sale, one old pipe. Age unknown.” At least that’s honest!
    Obviously, all MY pipes are vintage..!! (There should be a big fat smiley right here!)
    Exile.

Leave a comment