Skip to content

My “Giant Eagle”

April 18, 2008

One of the classic meerschaum designs is the well known “Eagle claw and egg”. This one of the first ornate designs ever produced by the excellent meerschaum pipe carvers that live and work around Eskisehir in Turkey.

GianteagleDon’t be angry with me, but I have just found and subsequently ordered this excellent example on the internet at Altinok pipes. There is a link to the webside in the sidebar on this blog. Visit them if you haven’t been there yet. There are many examples to browse through and there is everything from classic shapes to ornate figures, including dragons, nudes, lions, birds and carved heads. If you are looking for a quality meerschaum, this is the place to go.

The postal services should take about a week to bring the pipe to my door and I can hardly wait to hold it in my hands. This is another pipe painstakingly carved by Sevket Gezer, the same man that carved my “Two Dragons” pipe.

I posted these pictures here for all to see as a record of ownership, for insurance purposes amongst other things, but there are more pipes to be seen at Altinok. According to the information on the site this pipe has the following characteristics:

  • gianteagle2Finest quality block meerschaum 
  • Natural – creamy color – beeswax
  • Size : XL
  • Bowl height : 2.4″ (60mm)
  • Chamber diameter : 0.9″ (22mm)
  • Chamber depth : 1.8″ (46mm)

 

Looking at those specifications, this is a big pipe, which is probably why it is termed “giant”. It comes complete in a hard box and with a certificate of authenticity. The pipe is signed by Sevket.

I hope Mr. Altinok will forgive me for reproducing his photographs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2008 11:39

    I’m so happy seeing my pipe here on this great blog of Exile’s. I appreciate a kind business and excellent words of a real gentleman.

    Always happy smoking!

    Thank you Sinan. The Eagle is magnificent. It was a pleasure to do business with you. My highest recommendations. (I have changed my name to my nickname.)
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

