Skip to content

Stanwell 84 Sandblast

June 24, 2012

Here’s a pipe that I actually forgot was in the rotation. I had mislaid it at some point and found it today hiding away on the shelf above my whisky collection. Dusty and in need of a polish, I gave it a little tender loving care and decided the time was in to fill it up and smoke it again. It must be well dried by now. Reaching for the Dark Kentucky flake, I packed it and fired up. Heaven.

It’s not like me to simply forget my pipes, so I have to wonder as to how that happened. This may not be one of my favourites for some reason, otherwise I would definitely have missed it and gone looking for it but, nonetheless, it delivers a great smoke and I don’t really understand how it got left on the shelf for so long. It is now going to get a more prominent place in the rack and I will spend a bit more time getting to know it again. I believe I bought it about two or three years ago at one of the pipe shows but the details escape me.

IMG_4585A thoroughly Danish Stanwell, from the “Relief” series, it was probably made for the German market as it is a filter pipe. Regulars here will know that I dislike filters and don’t use them. I usually have the stems fitted with a plug and discard filters. For some reason, I haven’t done that with this one. Which gives me another little job to get done. As you can see, this one is sandblasted and not very deeply at that. The blast is actually quite subtle but it is well done. Looking at the starboard side of the bowl I can see why it was chosen to be blasted but the offending pit has been virtually removed and unless one gets up close and personal with a magnifier it is pretty much unnoticeable. The rim is polished and gives a nice contrast to the blast, which is probably what attracted me to this pipe in the first place. The thin silver ring makes a pleasant decoration. I like a bit of bling!
Other than the obvious æsthestics, the pipe is comfortable to hold, perhaps a little heavy in the teeth and generally smokes like a trouper. After the Dark Kentucky, I’m smoking rubbed Virginia in it now and it’s doing very well with that particular tobacco. Maybe this is one due for dedication to Va’s? We’ll see.

Markings: Stanwell over Made in Denmark. Relief. (Model number) 84

Dimensions:

Length: 145 mm
Bowl height:50 mm
Bowl dia.: 45 mm
Chamber: Ø21 x 40 mm deep

6 Comments leave one →
  1. upshallfan permalink
    June 24, 2012 15:00

    That is a good looking Stannie for sure! I’m glad you rediscovered it.

    So am I sir, so am I..!
    Exile

  2. June 29, 2012 16:57

    It went missing because you laid it on the shelf above the whiskie rather than with the whiskie. In any event, it is a good looking pipe and back in service.
    Jim

    I see the error of my ways… It is good to have it in the rotation again.
    Exile.

  3. July 31, 2012 13:36

    That pipe is really awesome,my dad for sure love it.in Finland country most of the people are smoker they use a lot of cigarette,one of the latest cigarette in Helsinki area is the electronic cigarette which a lot of women love it,not only because it has a nicotine but it doesn’t have any side effects.

  4. August 30, 2012 17:15

    I like the rough look of this pipe. These are my favorite types of pipes. A polished pipe is cool and nice to look at but it doesn’t carry the manliness of this type of pipe. I am glad that it did not remain undiscovered.

    As am I Joseph. Thanks for your comments.
    Exile.

  5. March 29, 2013 19:58

    I have always admired the beauty and design of pipes. There is something very appealing in the look of pipes.

    I could smoke just because of how the pipe feels and looks 🙂

    Btw. Have you tried electronic pipes?

    Well Sir, I thank you for coming here and for your comment. Electronic pipes? Blasphemy! I have seen them. That was enough for me! Like electronic cigarettes, they will, in my opinion, never replace the real thing.
    Exile.

  6. September 2, 2014 08:21

    Hi, I’m actually looking for this kind of pipe. I think you can buy this in every pipe stores right? It was so good, congrats you found it.

    Thanks for the comment. Yes, if you are lucky, you might just find one of these at a good tobacconist. Good hunting!
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

