Skip to content

Big Fat Bent Rhodesian

April 23, 2008

Bigrho No. I’m not insulting anybody. This is my big Rhodesian. This one was made by Stanwell, probably for the German market It is a filter pipe but I do not use filters in it. It is a chunky pipe, to say the least. The bowl measures 49 mm across and is 51 mm high. It is 151 mm from tip to bowl front. The silver ring at the end of the shank is 24 mm across the pipe. The chamber is only 23 mm in diameter though. Which makes it appear that the chamber is slightly too small for the pipe. Chamber depth is 41 mm. The lip is broad, at 20 mm. That broad lip took some getting used to as it tended to make my mouth water! The silver ring is actually split in two and a thin sliver of amber coloured (I presume acrylic) material is sandwiched between the two.

I photographed it beside the universal pipe tool so that you may get some idea of the dimensions. This pipe is not heavy and is well balanced, which makes it a nice pipe for those hours spent reading or watching the TV. I bought it because I like large pipes and it fits my hand well. It was mine as soon as I held it!

Straight grained and nicely coloured, it is as pleasing to look at as it is to smoke.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2013 23:27

    So far I’ve gone for small bowl sizes. I don’t have more than a half hour for a smoke at any occasion, so anything bigger seemed a waste. But really I think I’m just frightened.

    Like your comment about it being yours as soon as ‘you held it’. I guess i’ll have to give one a try.

Leave a Reply

