Skip to content

DM2012–Danish Championships

March 29, 2012

It isn’t the winning or losing, it’s being part of the madness. At least, that’s what I believe and I’m sticking to it, mainly because I have no chance of ever being the Danish Champion in slow pipe smoking. Mind you, I am closing the gap, slowly improving with every passing year. This year, I was no. 17 out of 110 smokers with a time of 1 hour, 25 minutes. For those of you who don’t know the rules of this sport, you get three grams of tobacco, a pipe, two matches to light up with and a stamper.  No relights along the way. When the pipe goes out, you’re out. The world record, by the way, stands at over three and a half hours. I have a long way to go.IMG_4531

The pipe this year was, as it always is, a Stanwell. This year we got a model 03 billiard in a rusticated finish and I must say, it’s a vast improvement on the pipes we are used to getting at the championships. Normally they are smallish, not exactly firsts and frankly, I don’t smoke them much after the competition is over. They are just too small. This year however, the pipe is a beaut. The classic billiard in a mans size. Well made, well finished and despite its size, light in weight. I’ve been offering it rubbed out Virginia flakes and the like and it seems to go very well with that particular type of tobacco.
No problems with the airway here, it smokes very well and I actually like the look of the thing. All in all, I’m quite pleased with it. Even if it is Italian made. Well done Stanwell. Keep it up.

The bowl is 38 mm wide at the widest point and it stands 48 mm high. The chamber is bored to 20 mm and is 41 mm deep. Length: a whopping 152 mm.

markings: “03”, “Stanwell”, “Danish Design” and 2012”. All markings on a polished area under the shank. The stem bears the Stanwell logo.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 11:37

    Very interesting! I’m a newbie and didn’t know there was a “slow smoking” championship. One of the reasons I’ve taken up pipe smoking was to “slow down” as the process requires one to do just that.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Dan
    Pipe Lighters

    Thanks Dan. Nice to have you here but you’re being cheeky including that link. Normally I wouldn’t allow it in the comments area but as it is related to pipe smoking I’ll let it slide! Good luck with the pipe. It’s a journey for life!
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

