Skip to content

And the Winner Is…

March 27, 2014

Well, me. Much to my surprise and joy!

At the Danish National championships we usually have a bit of fun on the side and at the start of the competition we have a draw. A lottery if you like, based on the competitor number. The competitor list is clipped into strips of paper each bearing the number and name of all combatants and then the Guest of Honour gets to dip his hand into the bag and draw out a winner. The guest was a certain Mogens Anderson, who is something of a designer, and it is he that designs the ‘Hunter’ pipes for Erik Nørding. I’ll never forget him because he picked my name out of the hat and for that, Sir, I am eternally grateful. This is what was up for grabs…

 

IMG_5215

 

It is a hand made pipe from Poul Winslow. It is one of twelve that were made for the 75 year jubilee of the Davidoff shop here in Copenhagen. I own number 11 of the twelve pipes. It’s a beautiful thing. This one is flame grained and in a delightful size that fits my clutching hand.

Not a huge pipe by any means but fairly generous in proportions. 135 mm long and, measuring across the bowl to bottom, the bowl is 46 mm high. The chamber is 20 mm in diameter and 33 mm deep. The chamber is slightly conical and the airway meets the floor of the chamber right in the middle, much like a calabash meerschaum.
The Silver ring is engraved in Danish, ‘75 År’ (75 years).
The pipe is also marked, ‘My Own Blend’ – ‘Hand made in Denmark’ – 2014 – 11.
The accompanying certificate reads (allowing for my translation!):

“75 year jubilee pipe. This pipe was created to celebrate My Own Blend’s 75 year anniversary. Only 12 pipes were made for this occasion. The pipes were hand cut by Poul Winsløw. Each pipe is unique.”

No. I haven’t smoked it yet. But don’t worry. I will..!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. nick valadez permalink
    March 27, 2014 15:31

    Beautiful pipe exile. Heres to the fortunes of luck! Cheers.
    nick.

    Good fortune indeed Nick. Very good.
    Exile.

  2. Jim permalink
    March 27, 2014 15:34

    I’d give you 10 bucks for that ….

    I’ll bet you would Jim.. but it ‘ain’t fer sale’.. as my colonial cousin would say..!!
    Exile.

  3. info2ponder permalink
    March 27, 2014 19:31

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    Thank you.
    Exile.

  4. upshallfan permalink
    March 28, 2014 03:43

    That is a beautiful shape and wonderful interpretation of the Rhodesian shape. You were quite fortunate to acquire it!

    Indeed I was!
    Exile

  5. Fred permalink
    March 28, 2014 10:44

    Beautiful pipe, why set it on fire, burn it up and spit all over it?

    Because it’s built specifically to handle such abuse.
    Exile

  6. Poetic Cultivation permalink
    March 29, 2014 21:40

    A beauty for sure, and the circumstance in which it came into your hands even better. Enjoy.

    Thank you. I’m sure I will enjoy it!
    Exile.

  7. December 25, 2015 12:32

    It is my first time i visit here. I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the leisure here! Keep up the excellent work.
    Tobacco Machines

  8. Sam permalink
    January 30, 2016 13:27

    I can say in one word it’s just beautiful. I never see before this kind of blog. I came to just enjoy it but I must say now am very curious to watch it more. I think pipes something which make feel like a Royal

    Normally, I don’t allow links in comments. I hate to think others are using my blog to advertise for anything. However, I’m going to let this one stand. Thanks for commenting here.
    Keith.

Leave a Reply

