Skip to content

Stanwell Christmas 2011

January 14, 2012

Being honest, I didn’t get this one for Christmas. My birthday falls in November and so it was, that my dear wife, being aware of my affection for the unusual in pipes, bought this one for me.

IMG_4413Basically, it follows the lines of a prince but the boxwood section on the shank and the reduced, almost saddle, stem makes this one stand out a bit in my otherwise overfilled racks. The boxwood is separated from the briar with a decorative vinyl ring and the stem bears a silver ring to delineate the shift from shank to stem. The pipe is bored for a filter, which I duly removed and inserted a plug to fill the expanded airway.
I suppose I would have to declare this one as having more flame grain than anything else but that does not detract in any way from my pleasure as I look upon this lovely pipe.

Stanwell or not, this one was produced at the new factory in Italy. Many have been a bit suspicious of “Danish” pipes being made in Italy, raising suspicions about quality and form and the engineering that we are used to from Stanwell. Rest assured, this one sticks to the rigid demands to which we are accustomed. The airway is open and the draw is easy. The general finish is as good as it gets and the pipe, despite being a tad heavy in the mouth, is comfortable to smoke. It is not one for the clenchers out there. It does, however, sit very comfortably in the hand and I enjoy the smoking of it. The stampings on this particular piece are very crisp and the silver Stanwell  “S” logo is well placed on the stem. The pipe is marked “Stanwell” over “Danish Design” over “XMAS 2011”.

Had I got this in my Christmas stocking, I would have been well pleased.

Dimensions:

Bowl: 50 mm diameter and 46 mm high.
Chamber: Ø 30 mm and 34 mm deep.
Total length: 105 mm.
The button is 18 mm wide and 7.5 mm thick.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kypros christodoulides permalink
    January 14, 2012 17:53

    Hi Keith and happy new year to you and your much better half.
    It is reassuring and comforting to see a Stanwell pipe of such quality coming out of Italy because many opinions lead me to suspected the standards of the Italian ones were not going to be up to par with the Danish made ones.
    After looking at your new pipe ,I am green with envy. I only hope that Stanwell starts making BIG BIG pipes, my favourites.

    Hi Kypros, and a happy new year to you too. Big pipes? I’ll keep my eye on it and see! This one is nice though. Does very well with Virginia in the bowl.
    Exile.

  2. January 15, 2012 13:31

    Nice pipe, that style reminds me of a Charatan After-Hours, this one is mine:
    Charatan

    I’m glad to hear the Stanwell quality hasn’t diminished, in fact I’ve heard from some folk that it is better.

  3. Nikolaj permalink
    February 3, 2012 12:15

    Hi

    Nice story. Regarding the middle piece on the XMAS i am quite sure that it is olive wood and not box wood.

    Kind regards Nikolaj

    Ah… I wonder. The grain looks to be too tight for olivewood.. However, mystery lover that I am, I’ll try to find out for sure.
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

