Skip to content

Christmas Pipes

December 26, 2010

Or,  A tale of Scullduggery and Deception.

I make no secret of the fact that I sell pipes. Both new and estate. Just before Christmas I received a collection of pipes from a friend who wants to thin out the herd that he owns, to invest in some more up market pipes. Could I help in selling them? Yes. And so I did.

barokOne of them was this very nice Stanwell Barok billiard which cleaned up very nicely indeed. It went into the batch of Stanwells in the stable and duly went up for sale. It wasn’t long after, that I was contacted by the wife of a friend. She intended to buy it for him for Christmas but knew he was about to order it for himself. “Please tell him, it’s been sold”, she said.
OK. I did that. Not wishing the lad to find it in the post, I suggested that I deliver it by hand at a location way out of his sight.
His good lady agreed, we arranged a meeting and the pipe was handed over in the best cloak and dagger tradition. I have since received e-mail. While sorry for having to disappoint and deceive a friend, I know the man was pleased with his Christmas gift and I know I am forgiven.

 

princeI too was the subject of some subterfuge. My dear lady bought a pipe from my website and presented me with it on Christmas day. I am now the owner of this magnificent Refbjerg.  Straight grained and broad at the mouthpiece, it is a wonderful pipe and it smokes like a dream come true.

 

And while I’m about it, I hope all my regular readers and visitors to this site had as happy a Christmas as I, and I add my best wishes for a happy new year to you all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:31

    Congratulations to the proud owners of Christmas pipes this year, and a happy, healthy New Year to all!

    I had no new pipes under the tree or in the stocking this year but all the kids with the exception of a daughter in Maine were home for Christmas. My son and his wife also announced that they will be making us grandparents again sometime around August. I will place this year in the ‘win’ collumn.

    Jim

    Had I known it Jim, I’d have sent you a pipe! Glad to hear that Christmas was otherwise blessed. Good luck in the new year, may it be a happy one. I too am about to become a grandfather… any day now.
    Exile.

  2. December 29, 2010 16:18

    Boy, that Stanwell is a beauty! It sounds as though cloak and dagger missions still live on!

    My best to you sir,

    And to you sir. Happy new year!
    Exile.

  3. Arko permalink
    December 30, 2010 22:37

    Yes, you sure fooled me! But I love to be the fool when I end up with a lovely smoker like that (it’s perfect!). She told me about the hand-over … that you even wore a hat and all. Hehe!

    And you got fooled too? You gotta love them wifes, huh? Beautiful Refbjerg!

    Happy New Year, my sneaky friend!

    And a very happy new year to you too.. Regards to your lovely wife.
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

