Skip to content

Savinelli Punto Oro

September 19, 2010

savpunto Another Ebay capture. I bought this one because I wanted a pipe with an army mount that I could take anywhere. I was looking for a Stanwell at the time but this one just sang out to me when I saw it and I finally gave in and put in a bid. I make no apology for bringing the Ebay photo here. I couldn’t present it better.
The chamber is conically bored which makes it good for flake tobacco even though I seldom smoke flake as flake. I tend rub out. This little Savinelli may yet convert me though. Flake as flake burns very well in this pipe.

I’ve seen these advertised at anything up to €140.00. So getting this one for under €30.00 was quite the bargain.

 

Not a big pipe but not too shabby in dimension either. I suppose I would have to call it a medium sized, army mounted Dublin pipe.

Markings: “Savinelli” over “Punto Oro” on the left side of the shank and The Savinelli logo beside “412” Over “Italy” on the right. The stem is decorated with the “gold” spot. The silver ring is also stamped “Savinelli” beneath a “925” silver mark.

Length: 145 mm.
Height: 48 mm.
Bowl diameter: 43 mm at the rim.
Chamber: 21 mm at the rim x 41 mm deep.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 10:48

    Very nice pipe! Yes, the military stems do have their advantages to be sure.
    From the picture it looks like the briar has a very nice swirl grain. What tobac did you use for the maiden voyage smoke?
    Enjoy!
    Best,
    David

    I smoked a rubbed out virginia flake from My Own Blend. Strong and naturally sweet.
    Exile.

  2. September 19, 2010 10:55

    The Savinelli Punto Oro looks lovely.

    The gift presentation Irish Traditional Clay Pipe from http://www.irishshopper.com is my favorite as I mainly buy these as Gifts to give to people and they come beautifully gift boxed and with a presentation scroll. You can have a version with the Shamrock, Harp or Celtic weave on the barrel.

    Happy smoking all from a non pipe smoker !!!

    • September 19, 2010 10:56

      Sorry spelt Irish wrong in post. Can it be corrected ? THANK YOU.

      Yes Sir, indeed it can, and has been. Thanks for your comment.
      Exile.

  3. Ray Charlong permalink
    September 19, 2010 13:39

    A sweet pipe! I have a soft spot for military mount pipes, they just seem to have a nice line to them. It looks and sounds like a nice flake pipe by the size and shape of the bowl. The price was right indeed! Enjoy your new aquisition and remember always, stem side towards the mouth and no shotgunning!! LOL

    Ray

  4. Jim permalink
    September 19, 2010 14:57

    Very nice pipe, and it looks well cared for. I have a few Savinellis(no Punto Oro yet)and all are good smoking pipes.

    Enjoy!

  5. Old Tom permalink
    September 19, 2010 15:55

    Very nice pipe indeed! Congratulations!
    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Arko permalink
    September 27, 2010 01:06

    I’m glad you finally found one! And what a beauty! I’m not at all jealous (ARGH!). I got another one a couple of months ago, quite similar to the one I showed you earlier. This one is the DM-pipe from 1989, and it smokes like a dream. I need more Army Mounts, that’s for sure. I’ve read somewhere that Stanwell will release a new line of them soon …

    Oh, by the way, you said that you broke it in with a strong and sweet flake from MOB – which one? I’ve tried the #51 but I find a bit flat.

    Let’s hook up soon.

    Hi Arko, nice to see you back here. Get down to Madsens and ask for MOB no. 42. It’s a golden Virginia flake but it rubs out nicely too, and sweet as a nut.
    And yes, let’s hook up again. I want to hear about the States!
    Exile

Leave a Reply

