Skip to content

Stanwell Sterling Silver 51

March 20, 2010

It isn’t often that I buy, or indeed smoke, a small pipe. This one though, is fast becoming a favourite in the mornings and especially at the weekend. I probably bought the pipe because of the grain, colour and the silver decoration which come together in a beautiful, if not holy, trinity. The underside of the bowl is more or less straight grained which breaks slowly into the most delightful flame grain as it rises up the bowl. The long stem gives this little pipe a certain elegance that is missing in many of the modern billiards.

IMG_3509 As I said, this is fast becoming my “go to” pipe for that first bowl of Virginia in the morning. The pipe holds around three grams of tobacco and smokes for close to an hour without a great deal of effort on my part. Coupled with my morning Ceylon tea, I can think of no better way to start the day.

The pipe is 145 mm long and the bowl is 45 mm high. At its widest point it is 34 mm in diameter. The chamber is bored to 18.5 mm and is 36 mm deep. The draught and airway appear to be no more than 3.5 mm although the draw feels wide open.
Markings are simple: “Stanwell” over “Made in Denmark” on the underside of the shank and the model number 51 on the starboard side. The silver band is marked “Stanwell” over “Sterling”. The stem bears the inlaid silver Stanwell “S” logo.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Highstump permalink
    March 21, 2010 00:55

    I am not really a fan of small pipes myself, but I do have a couple of them that are a dream to smoke a Virginia flake in. Enjoy!

    Hmmm.. flake.. hadn’t thought of that. Must try some Orlik Vintage tomorrow morning. Normally I fill up with Rattray’s “Hal o’ the Wind” as a first..
    Exile.

    • Highstump permalink
      March 29, 2010 16:12

      So how did the flake work out for you in the small pipe?
      Jim

      Very good indeed! I did the classic trick. Filled my pipe before turning in, took the charring light, let it go out and put it to one side ready for the morning.
      Oh, bliss. One of the best morning smokes I’ve had for a long time!
      Exile.

  2. John permalink
    March 27, 2010 23:53

    A morning pipe is such a civilised act. I wouldn’t normally consider it, but at times of high stress when I feel the coming day might overwhelm me, I start early and reflect over a pipe. It’s a gentle way to wake up, get your mind working and put things into perspective. And it seems to make things go a bit smoother than expected.

    “A civilised act..” Yes. I entirely agree. One can easily start the day in a rush, but how much better to have thought your day through before you begin it..?
    Enjoy your pipe Sir. Also in the morning!
    Exile.

  3. PiterJankovich permalink
    March 29, 2010 20:26

    My name is Piter Jankovich. Only want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

    Yes and no. My real hobby is pipe smoking, but this blog is a close second!
    And you have no need to apologise for your english. You should hear my Russian!
    Exile.

  4. Efe Ertem permalink
    May 20, 2010 22:58

    It’s pipe!

Leave a Reply

