Skip to content

Peterson Killarney Bulldog

January 10, 2010

My birthday was a bit of a wash out last year. I had been into hospital to have a cancer removed from my left ear, my wife was sick with a cold and flu and I was suffering not only from post-operation misery but had acquired a dose of pneumonia. On top of all that, I’d lost my job.

IMG_3356 I had to go back to hospital to have the dressing replaced over my ear and my wife decided she would come along to give support in my hour of need. With the dressing changed and pronounced on the mend, I left the hospital and we began the long drive home. Passing my usual tobacconist, my wife asked me to stop and dragged me kicking and screaming into the tobacco emporium. She bought me this as a birthday present. This pipe will never leave my side. It was the only bright spot in a time of abject suffering. It smokes as good as it looks.

The pipe is 140 mm long, stands 50 mm tall and the bowl is a handsome 46 mm diameter at the extreme. The chamber is 20 mm in diameter and some 39 mm deep. The airway appears to be a generous 4,5 mm making the draw easy. This is one of those pipes that will smoke themselves.

Stampings are simple. “Peterson” over “ of Dublin” (curved stampings) over “Killarney” on the port side of the shank and “B2” on the starboard. The stem is embossed with the Peterson “P” logo. The shank is decorated with two nickel bands enclosing a black acrylic ring.

As a foot note, I must say that Petersons fishtail stems are excellent. Broad and thick at the button, they are a pleasure to have between the teeth.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 00:35

    It’s obvious that you love Peterson pipes. I don’t know why, but I’ve never owned one. I have a Peterson tobacco pouch, but no pipe. I may just have to see if I can find one at my usual pipe shop. Thanks for your posts.
    Bill

    Oh Bill,.. every man deserves at least one Pete..! Thanks for your comment.
    Exile.

  2. Chris G. permalink
    February 4, 2010 06:32

    I find that some of the pipes that are closest to my heart are those that have been given to me by my wife. I can imagine your joy given the difficult moment. Good blog!

    Chris
    Connecticut USA

    Thanks Chris. And welcome here. I hope you enjoyed your visit and come again.
    Exile.

  3. March 9, 2010 17:32

    Nice pipe :0)
    I suggest the Peterson Harp/Dublin smooth pipe 03… (Silver band, good Briar.) A real pleasure to smoke.. ..an hour or more with 2g of tobacc0.
    Thank you for this nice page. Here ( in Norway) we are, by law, barely allowed to smoke a fair pipe of tobacco. Even to get a a good pipe is hard.. My dream is the Peterson “Pipe of the year 2009.” Seems market price is about NOK 3500.- by now… :0(
    …or why not? A pipe to last a lifetime :0) ..If I find it.. I probably can’t resist ;0)
    Any suggestions apart from the “Killnarney Bulldog”? Even a nice Churchwarden would do :0)
    Best regards,
    Roald.

    I had no idea it was getting to be so restrictive in Norway. Roald, keep an eye on my sales site, I may be getting a few more pipes soon. Some may even be Petersons. Online shopping may be the way to go for you.
    Exile.

  4. March 9, 2010 18:20

    Ooops.. as in PS: A question:
    The Peterson 2009 has Celtic style silver both on head and stem,right?
    The most beautiful pipe I’ve ever seen :0)
    What is your price for this item, I wonder?
    Please advice “Best buy” option if possible?
    (Years ago I had a few ” Larsen” pipes from here ( in Norway). The production has been shut down app. 15 years ago…. whish you could find any pipe from there anyway.. those where, well.., good pipes. For you to try out, that is :0)
    …Well, if I can ever find those pipes again… from some collector or from who knows?
    …The ultimate Briar! :0)
    .. Grandfather’s grandfather’s grandfather’s pipes. Lillehammer, Norway.
    ….I want one immediately!!!!!! :0))

    Your advice is awaited, Sir :0)
    Best regards, again,
    Roald

    Personal Email sent. Exile.

Leave a Reply

