Skip to content

Peterson Rosslare #221

December 26, 2009

I’ve had my eye on this pipe for a while now. I pointed it out to my wife a couple of weeks ago and said that if she was stuck for a Christmas present idea, this might be it. My gentle prodding paid off. Christmas morning brought me this lovely Rosslare mounted with a sterling silver faux spigot and a fishtail stem. Bored to perfection and beautifully finished, it is still being broken in but already it hints at the delightful pipe it is going to become. Easy to hold in mouth and hand, it is a pleasant instrument to smoke and hold.

All stampings are crisp and legible. “Peterson” over “Rosslare” on the port side of the shank, and “221” on the starboard. The silver work is hallmarked and marked “Peterson” over “Dublin” and “Sterling Silver”. A silver Peterson logo “P” is to be found on the shank.

Bent pipes are hard to measure but measuring from the front of the bowl to the tip of the stem shows a length of 140 mm. The bowl is 42 mm high and the chamber is bored to 19 mm.

Enjoy the picture.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Highstump permalink
    December 27, 2009 01:25

    Your wife is sounding more and more like a ‘keeper’ all the time. Congratulations on that fine Christmas snag. I have been looking at those every since they came out and have never been able to make myself pull the trigger on one. They are a beauty to behold.

    Jim

  2. June 18, 2010 22:37

    Nice pipe. There was a #69 at my local tobacconist and i should have pulled the trigger. It was sold the next day.

    Such is life. Don’t worry, there will be others!
    Exile

  3. Frank Rice permalink
    January 11, 2011 03:28

    I sure love my 302! But then it might be nice having a 221 to keep it company when I am not smoking either one.

    One pipe good.. two pipes better..!! (With apologies to George Orwell..!)
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

