Skip to content

2009 World Championship Pipe

October 25, 2009

It would be remiss of me not to post this pipe after having posted on the championships. The pipe is the best thing that came out of the competition and is a very pleasant smoker indeed. Made by the Szabo Cooperative in Hungary, it is a faux silver spigot bearing silver on both stem and shank but using mortice and tenon connection to fix the acrylic stem to bowl.

IMG_3320 The pipe is marked “Szabo Cooperaci” with a normal stamp but almost under the shank is engraved “Hungary”, and I do mean engraved. The bowl sports similar engraving depicting the logo used for the championships. The lettering around the logo reads “World Cup in Pipe Smoking” – “Debrecen 11.10.2009”. I have no idea as to the process involved in this engraving. It may be laser cut or milling. Either way, the effect is stunning and very crisp as opposed to the stamping.

The markings on the silverwork are a simple “925” encircled in an oval ring on the stem side of the spigot.

The bowl is rusticated in 270 degrees leaving the port side smooth for the logo. It is comfortable to hold in the hand and is a well balanced piece of briar. The engineering is superb, the 4 mm airway meeting the bottom of the chamber at dead centre.

IMG_3318 Dimensions:

Length: 150 mm

height: 50 mm

Bowl: Ø39 mm

Chamber: Ø20 mm x 42 mm

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Highstump permalink
    October 25, 2009 21:01

    I take it you won’t be smoking the contest tobacco in it. 🙂

    NO! I’m doing all I can to remove the last vestages of that unholy ghost!
    It was awful.
    Exile

  2. John permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:21

    Reading this has made me realize that I need to fire up old faithful and enjoy a full briar before bed!

    Good man!
    Exile.

    • Michael McGuire permalink
      April 27, 2010 02:49

      I just recieved one of these pipes from a friend of mine that I met via Facebook. This pipe is quite a good smoker! I have also smoked the tobacco that you speak of from the competition. As a matter of fact I still have about 50 grams of it in my showcase. I invite you to join us on facebook. There are many great pipe clubs and a few of us who exchange tobaccos from various countries….it is quite the brotherhood of Briar!

      Sincerely,

      Michael S. McGuire

      Thank you Michael. I shall look into Facebook but I fear I am a member of far too many groups already!
      Exile

Leave a Reply

