Skip to content

Jeppesen Panel

September 6, 2009

Here is the pipe I bought following the visit by Peder Jeppesen to my pipe club. It is a six panelled half bent with saddle stem sporting a silver ring and acrylic decoration on the shank. The orangey-brown staining gives this pipe an almost natural look and the polished finish is delightful to behold and feel. In my opinion, nothing beats the feel of highly polished wood.

The pipe is stamped simply, “P.Jeppesen” over “Hand made”, which is all the credentials it needs. I must mention Peder’s generosity here. He visited our club, entertained us with his stories and then showed us a lot of pipes which he had for sale. He sold a lot of pipes, but all of them at reduced prices. I am not about to reveal how much I paid for this lovely pipe, so please, no e-mails asking what I gave for it! I won’t tell.

Dimensions:

Length: 150 mm

Height: 60 mm

Bowl max: 40 mm (Port to Starboard).

Chamber: Ø18 mm; Depth: 50 mm.

Mouthpiece; 20 mm broad at the tip.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Highstump permalink
    September 11, 2009 18:43

    It is a beauty of a pipe, congratulations! I have a soft spot for panels anyway. I take it this is to become a “house pipe”. Dropping it on anything other than your lap or a plush carpet would be a crime.

    What is the intended fodder for this piece of work? And how is the weight?

    Hi there, welcome back. I’ll be feeding it with Virginias, probably flake.
    I’m experimenting with Orlik’s Golden Slices right now.
    Yep. It’s a house pipe!
    I haven’t actually weighed it yet, 120 grams? Not bad for a large pipe.
    Beautifully balanced though. A real treat to smoke.
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

