Skip to content

Finally. A Peterson 302

July 3, 2009

I posted elsewhere about my wanting a Peterson 302 after cleaning one up for a pal. I haven’t been able to find one until now, although I did find the big de-luxe 02 while I was searching the auction sites. However, my luck changed last week and I found this beautiful 302 going on a european E-bay site. I put in a big bid hoping to scare others off but was surprised to get it for only €31.00. I was prepared to pay much more for this lovely example of the standard system 302.

It isn’t in my possession as yet, I’m still waiting for the postal boys to do their thing, but couldn’t help myself posting this.

I will update this post once the pipe is with me.

Update. 04/07/2009

I have it already. It is as good as the pictures suggest.  The best description I can give, is that it looks like the Peterson 303, but all grown up and fed on steroids. It smokes like a dream and I can tell already, this one is going to see a lot of tobacco! Well worth the €31.oo that I paid for it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2009 14:34

    That’s a big bowl!

  2. Scott Murphy permalink
    July 12, 2009 07:11

    Congrats on your purchase! That is a lovely pipe. I’m searching for the exact same one! I could buy retail but I refuse to pay the $$ – especially here in Canada.

    Enjoy!!

    Thanks, I will. Try looking at the european E-bay sites. I found this one on Ebay.de
    My german language is long forgotten but with payment by Paypal, the communication was minimal. Good luck hunting for one! It’s a great pipe.
    Exile.

  3. Larry permalink
    July 23, 2009 00:58

    I’ve got a 302 that I bought at SmokingPipes.com about a year ago. I didn’t realize they were hard to find. It has become a favorite. It’s hard to tell from the pictures, but I think yours is a little nicer. Enjoy it!

    Hi Larry,
    Hard to get? I don’t know, but I have been on the lookout for a few months now. Occasionally one turns up on the bay. I daresay one could order from Petersons. Either way, I haven’t seen one on display recently in any of the three tobacconists I support, so I went e-baying for one. I got lucky.
    Thanks for dropping by…
    Exile.

  4. Nick Caffacus permalink
    December 9, 2009 03:24

    I have a Peterson 302. It has not been used since the early 1980’s. It was very old then and I had it rejuvenated by a qualified person at “The Tinder Box” in Hampton VA. This pipe is still in great condition with all markings intact. If anyone is interested in offering a fair price please contact me at ncaffacus@comcast.net.
    I will be glad to send detailed photos. I also have no idea how to tell the age. I obtained it in 1979 but it is much older.

    Interesting. 302’s are usually in popular demand. I love mine. I’d also like to see the photos! I deal a little in estate pipes, I might be able to give you a price idea.
    Exile.

  5. joanne permalink
    October 3, 2010 19:33

    hi my dad has a selection of peterson pipes that he is thinking of selling if the price is right. email josimonwed1108 if you have a query or know how much they go for. many thanks.

    Joanne. Thanks. Email sent to you. I’ve changed your email in the comment to keep the spammers off you!
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

