Skip to content

Farewell to These Two

January 31, 2009

Astleys33nightcap 001

Two of my favourite tobaccos will no longer be available to me in Denmark. Dunhill is not producing the famous and well loved NIghtcap anymore. And for reasons unknown, Astley’s Number 33 is no longer being imported.

I was at my tobacconists today and bought the last two tins of Astley’s, that they had, so yah-boo to all the others around here. I got ‘em, I’m keepin’ ‘em!
The Nightcap is already in my cellar and was bought on a recent trip to Belgium where I found five tins at two thirds of the price we pay here. So much for equality in the EU. We are overtaxed for everything.

Either way, when those few tins I have are gone, there will be no more. How very sad.

Luckily, I still have my own blend to fall back on and there are other tobaccos, but there is no doubt. These two will be sorely missed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. highstump permalink
    March 8, 2009 17:46

    It is always sad to see a favorite tobacco blend removed from production. I have the same issues with Edgeworth Ready Rubbed being discontinued. I take some solace in the fact that we have so many blends available today that something will be found that fills the void. With the antis being so active (and successfull) these days I have shifted my spending from pipes to tobacco for the cellar.

  2. September 28, 2010 09:09

    I found the two tins I had “cellered” away, one from Orlick the other from Murrays. Since the Orlick version was older, that is what I smoked tonight. And you know what? It never fails, when you find something you really like it’s either hard to come by or they just stop making it for reasons unknown.
    This tobac is really good stuff!
    Regards,
    David

    You just made a strong case for cellaring!!
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

