Skip to content

My Neerup Handmade

August 6, 2008

Neerup What a lovely pipe this is. I haven’t really given it the attention it deserves but have recently “rediscovered” it in my collection. I bought the pipe one evening when Neerup (Peder Jeppesen) himself turned up at my pipe club with his newest creations. I fell for this one straight away. The pipe is large enough to satisfy my grip and yet light enough to hold in my mouth.

The physical dimensions of this pipe are impressive. It measures 50 mm across the bowl from front to back and 48 mm from port to starboard. Hard to measure because of the curve under the bowl, bowl height is 59 mm. The tobacco chamber is a whopping 50 mm deep and 20 mm in diameter. From the tip to the outer edge of the bowl, 153 mm.

Neerup2 Something else that took my breath away was the straight grain on the bowl. All 360 degrees of it! I don’t often do this, but I took a picture as close as I could get and still focus, just to share it with the reader.

The boring of this pipe is spot on, bottom and dead centre, as one says, and the draft is wide open making it very easy to smoke.

I hope you enjoy the pictures as much as I enjoy this pipe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Larry permalink
    July 23, 2009 01:01

    I just got my first Neerup in the mail today and smoked it this afternoon. It’s a very nice sandblast and smoked beautifully. I’m looking forward to breaking it in further. I think it’s going to be a good one.

    Don’t worry. It will be…!!
    Exile.

  2. Efe Ertem permalink
    May 20, 2010 22:47

    I love neerup. I have 3 Neerup. Selection, Ida billiard and Classic bent. Very nice pipe.

Leave a Reply

