Skip to content

Peterson 314

July 27, 2008

0379_12Another Ebay win, I gave £30.00 for this little beauty. I have always liked the Peterson 314 and have looked at more than one in my search for this model. I have tried Ebay on several occasions without success but this was my time to get lucky I suppose. I realise that colours on these photos are rarely accurate and the pipe does indeed look to be a bit red as opposed to the usual brownish teint of estate pipes but the pipe appears to be in good condition and the seller says it is so. In fact, here is the description according to the seller:

This is a Vintage Peterson Standard System in Excellent Used Condition.  It is stamped  ‘Peterson’ over ‘Standard System’ on one side of the shank, and ‘Made in the Republic of Ireland’, and Shape No. ‘314’ on the other.  The bowl has a couple of ‘knocks’ otherwise is in very good clean condition.  The Peterson lip mouthpiece is in unmarked condition.  Reamed and cleaned, ready to smoke.

The Peterson 314 is still made and available at better tobacconists and pipe shops, the only difference between this pipe or a new one, is the price. The seller may have reamed and cleaned the pipe but I assure the reader here, that I will inspect and clean the pipe too. I always do. The few “knocks” can be removed with gentle restoration and a polish may be necessary after that. Either way, I’m pleased with my new acquisition and I look forward to filling it for the first time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

