Skip to content

Elementary, My Dear Watson

May 3, 2008

… that one should own a Sherlock Holmes from Peterson.

prof#2 I have one now. The “Professor” model. I don’t know if Professor Moriarty smoked one of these or not, but it is a thing of evil genius! This one has a genuine reddish tint to the finish, is well polished and has a fine grain on it. Well dimensioned, it is quite a heavy pipe but sits nicely between my teeth and is a pleasure to hold in the hand. The silver ring and logo make a worthy decoration. The pipe smokes well too. Peterson do not treat the insides of their bowls, which means one has to break them in to get the best out of the pipe. This is a slow process and is well described on the advisory websites included in the right hand sidebar of this page, where one can find good advice on how to break a pipe in.

I have been looking for one of these Peterson’s for a long time and finally found it at my tobacconists today. Now he’s really pleased with me, as I don’t seem to be able to enter the shop without buying a pipe while I wait for them to blend my tobacco!

Maybe that’s a piece of evil genius too….!

Either way, I’m as pleased as punch with this latest addition to my growing collection.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Highstump permalink
    June 28, 2008 13:30

    I have a few Petersons and one of them is the Holmes Squire. Great smoking pipe, but a pipe that must be held and not clenched (at least not by me). Some folks consider Petersons a lower end pipe but I think of most of them as high grades at a great price.

    I also have no preference in the “Fish Tail” vs “P Lip” debate. Both seem equally pleasing to me.

  2. Guadalupe Frietsch permalink
    April 18, 2011 17:45

    I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Studying this information So i am satisfied to express that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I such a lot no doubt will make certain to don’t forget this web site and give it a glance a relentless basis.

    Thank you Sir. The English may be a little off target but your sentiments are certainly appreciated and understood. Drop in as often as you please.
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

