Skip to content

Peterson Year Pipe 2006

March 5, 2008

pet2006.jpgI couldn’t resist this one. I found it in a tobacconist/wine dealership in Copenhagen. Unfortunately they were discontinuing the sale of pipes, but fortunately for me, they were holding a clear out sale. This pipe normally sells for about £150 here, I got it for half that.

Having smoked it gently once, I have not used it since. The silver collar tends to get very warm but the pipe smoked very well. I will try it again but I will not charge the bowl to the top.

It makes an attractive eyecatcher in my collection but I will have to experiment with it before I get the best out of it. Typical of Peterson, the workmanship is excellent and the pipe deserves more attention than I have given it. Notice that the bottom of the bowl is flat and slightly angled from the front of the bowl to the start of the stem. This allows one to put the pipe down without it rolling away.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. scott lee permalink
    August 17, 2008 22:31

    i bought this same model in singapore for about usd 350

    Wow! That’s a little more than I paid. Congratulations on a fine choice of pipe. Could I recommend you join smokersforum.com? There’s a heap of info to be had there.
    Exile.

  2. August 29, 2013 22:32

    My first pipe is a Peterson Barrel. I liked the ‘old-fashionedness’ of it and the fact that I could put it down without it rolling over.

Leave a Reply

