Skip to content

Just a Drop

March 5, 2008

dalwhinnie.jpgI make no secret of the fact that I enjoy a scotch with my sunday evening pipe. I have several, about 18 bottles of various scotches, mostly all single malts, with a few years behind them. I experiment on occasion with matching my scotch to my tobacco. A stronger taste of peat with a stronger tasting blend of tobacco, or perhaps something lighter with a more spicy variety of leaf accompaniment. One scotch that has always pleased my palate is this, the 15 year old Dalwhinnie. Always light and delicate, it has enough appeal to satisfy the most discerning of afficianados.

I take it with a drop of water to release all the flavour of the spirit and a cube or two of ice to keep it cool. Should the ice melt too quickly, one can always add a little more scotch along the way.

As the Scots would have it, Slanthe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 17:41

    I love a wee dram of single malt whisky.

    My father-in-law has recently introduced me to the The Scotch Malt Whisky Society.

    He takes me on ‘away days’ to the society’s rooms in London – in return I take him to CAMRA beer festivals.

    You should check the Scotch Malt Whisky website, it’s great.

    Keep Snuffin!

  2. March 11, 2010 04:23

    To date I’ve been a Glenlivet fan, but it looks like there’s new horizons ahead, particularly when I read “with latakia” . I particularly like straight up Glenlivet, glass of water with ice, and a latakia blend, although I love latakia with or without.

    I’m going to have to write a bit more about my whiskys. I have several more to try! Glenlivet, also one of my favourites.
    Exile.

  3. August 29, 2013 21:50

    Holy Moo! Don’t get me started on this one. Okay, just one word… Calvados

Leave a Reply

