Skip to content

Mark Twain. An Irish American Beauty.

July 16, 2009

This is one Peterson I thought I would never own. Named after the American author, the father of Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer, this pipe was mainly made for the American market. Occasionally they are to be found for sale on E-bay, which is where I found this one.

It is from the 1983-84 series, the hallmarking dates it to 1984. This was the last series produced. Basically a system pipe with a spigot stem, this pipe is decorated with a broad silver cap over the stem.The band is marked “Peterson” over “Sterling Silver” and holds the usual hallmarks.

The bowl is stamped “Peterson’s” over “Mark Twain” on the port side and “Made in the Republic of Ireland” on the starboard. This pipe can hardly be described as having a straight grain but it does have some beautiful markings and considerable bird’s eye. The bowl measures Ø 22 mm by 37 mm deep.

This is probably one of the best smoking pipes I have ever owned. I paid a good price for it, $100.oo, and have never regretted it. If I ever get the chance to purchase a second, I will.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Highstump permalink
    July 18, 2009 19:09

    Here is a pipe I can get behind. I have also been waiting for the stars to align and have a Twain pipe become available when I have a few dollars to burn…someday.

    Oh Oh, pipe envy. I am going to go pour another cup of coffee.

    Jim

    • deboriah permalink
      January 13, 2011 02:14

      I have one for sale just like that one. The sterling needs cleaning but it is the same pipe. :)

      I sent you email concerning the cleaning of the silver. Thanks for your comment and the email you sent me.
      Exile.

  2. Bill permalink
    July 21, 2009 06:05

    That is one beautiful pipe, I have one of my own just like it. I also have a rusticated model, each stamped Peterson Mark Twain Made in Ireland (not Republic of Ireland). Both are great smokers, especially when contemplating today’s affairs, or family affairs for that matter. Thanks for sharing, Bill

    Hi Bill,
    I checked again and mine is definitely marked “Made in the Republic of Ireland”. I have heard that Petersons sometimes get their stampings confused. You may have something unique there. Or have I?
    Oh no.. more research…!
    Exile.

    • Bill permalink
      July 23, 2009 20:33

      Just me again about the dating on our Peterson Mark Twain pipes. I emailed Peterson about the “MADE IN IRELAND” stamp, normally thought to be on pipes pre-1949. According to “Angela ‘ at Peterson’s, the stamp has been used after 1949, especially on the ever popular Mark Twain Series. My hallmarking dates my smooth in 1994, and my rustic in 1998, believe it or not. I also asked if that meant that the entire pipe was made in those years or the bowls being leftover from pre-1949 and just assembled in 1994-98 with the hallmarking. She said that was a possibility, because the records of manufacturing the bowls, in Angela’s words , “are incomplete and I have no further information on this matter”. So on with the mystery! I hope this helps, now on to a Mark Twain rustic filled with either Erinmore, or Gormrmet English. Thanks and take care.
      Bill

      Hi Bill. Thanks for this and, once again, I’m confused. I understood that the Mark Twain final series was made in 1983-84. You are now telling me that a further series was run off in the middle 1990’s.
      This plot is, indeed, thickening.
      Exile.

  3. Bill permalink
    July 24, 2009 21:23

    Not intending to beat a dead(?) horse, but this is confusing to me too. I did a little more research and found an article on the net on the site Petersonpipesproject (?). One in 2007 said just what you mentioned last production series 1983-84, but had info sent by others with the hallmark dating 1998 for a Mark Twain. I’m smoking my smooth (1994) now and under scrutiny see 6 small pit fills on the left side, no others. Maybe this was put to the side long ago, found while cleaning an area and bingo, put together and sold, easy because of popularity of the series? I guess we (or at least I) will never know the real history, even Petersons cannot tell me, but it , and the rustic, will continue to be favorites of mine . Thanks and take care,
    Bill

    A thought just struck me; maybe they were commissioned? If I ever get to the bottom of this, I’ll blog it up.
    Exile

  4. December 5, 2009 18:31

    I just checked mine. The silver cap has a “B” for 1987. The bowl is marked Made in the Republic of Ireland on one side and Mark Twain on the other. It is a smooth bowl.
    I have several post 1949 pipes marked made in Ireland, and silver work from the 1980’s through 2000’s.

    I can understand the frustration.
    Beating a dead horse I guess.

    I sometimes wonder about Petersons markings. I believe the silver hallmarks are correct but those caps may get used year after year.
    Meaning, a pipe that was finished in 1984 may have hallmakings from 1982 (for example). I would love to see a date stamp on the wood as well..!!
    Exile.

  5. Larry Curtis permalink
    December 9, 2009 00:58

    I have one of these pipes for sale. I just listed it on Ebay. Anyone interested can find it under “Peterson Mark Twain Smoking Pipe”.

    I joined the stampede to Ebay!
    Exile.

  6. Jack permalink
    January 25, 2010 21:52

    I have wanted one of these pipes every since I started smoking a pipe (late 90’s early 2000’s). I saw one in a Pipe & Tobacco magazine and committed a major sin — one of the big ten! I tried and tried to get one from ebay, but was always out-bid. One day, in June of 08, my wife and I went to an antique shop a little out of the way and there, in the counter display was one still in the box! I paid $75 for it. What a day! One of my best smoking pipes and one that is the most special for me.

    With all of the talk about the hallmarks and whatnot, I’ll have to double-check it when I get home.

    ~~~
    Jack

    Well Jack, my congratulations on finding a boxed MT for such a low price! As I say, they are excellent smoking pipes and I love mine dearly. It cost me $100.oo from Ebay.
    Thanks for commenting. It’s appreciated.
    Exile.

  7. Charles Funn permalink
    February 16, 2010 20:28

    I agree that the Twain is a great smoke. I have two, a smooth for Va.s and a Rustic for English
    Blends. They are my best smoking Petersons, out of the twenty or so I own. They’re currently in my top eight out of my collection,180+, for best smoking vehicles.

    Funn

    Two Twains! Lucky man.
    Exile.

  8. Jeff permalink
    March 5, 2010 18:09

    This is absolutely crazy. I’m here looking at peterson pipes and what to look for, and my wife just texted me a picture of a pipe she found at a garage sale. It’s a Peterson, Mark Twain Limited Edition. It still has the decorative box, paper and certification letter. The date is November, 1981. The letter states it is # 177 out of 400 limited edition pipes that were made. Anyone know what the value of this pipe is? She paid $25 for it.

    Thanks,

    Jeff

    Many hundreds of dollars! She did well and you are one lucky S.O.G.!
    I’ve seen them go on Ebay for three hundred plus..
    Exile.

  9. Michael Greer permalink
    May 4, 2010 14:28

    I recently bought a Mark Twain off ebay, it smokes so good, best pipe I have ever smoked. I am trying to determine it’s vintage. On the band it says Petersons and below that Dublin, the Hallmark is hard for me to make out even with my loupe, but the last character is a U, the middle character looks somewhat like flowers, but not a Shamrock. Any help you can give me will be greatle appreciated.

    Try visiting peterson.ie and see their hallmarking chart.
    Exile.

  10. Marcela permalink
    May 29, 2011 18:18

    Hi…. I just got like preset ..Peterson Mark Twain Limited Edition. It still has the decorative box, paper and certification letter. The date is November, 1981. The letter states it is # 2 out of 400 limited edition pipes that were made.. Can you tell me what the value of this pipe is? Thank you. Marcela.

    Hi Marcella,
    First, congratulations on your MT. A lovely pipe by any standards. I have seen them sold for hundreds of dollars on Ebay and also seen them sold for very little. You could go to Peterson.ie and see what a new one costs, but that is no indication of true value. For me, it isn’t a question of price that makes a pipe valuable. It’s the smoking experience.
    Exile.

  11. Marcela permalink
    June 1, 2011 15:04

    Thank you :-) Marcela

    You’re very welcome.
    Exile.

  12. fuzzy jr permalink
    January 24, 2012 01:42

    where would i find current values for a MT? I have had to stop smoking for health reasons and would like my better pipes tp gp tp someone who would appreciate them!

    Hi Fuzzy.. A difficult question. I presume you are going to sell your MT. Prices vary constantly and Ebay is probably not the place to go for a real estimation. I have seen them sold for as little as $50 and as much as $250… this depends on condition, finish and of course, demand. I paid $100 for mine.
    You may be able to find a dealer that would give you a quote. Or you could take your chances on Ebay…! A picture of the pipe might help. I’ll send you a personal email, you can send pictures to me there, if you wish.
    Exile.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

